Live: ‘BJP trying to poach newly-elected AAP councillors’

Delhi MCD Election Results 2022 Live Updates: After the AAP registered a resounding victory in the MCD elections, Delhi deputy chief minister Manish Sisodia on Wednesday alleged that the BJP was trying to poach newly-elected his party’s councillors and asserted that none of them will fall prey to their game. He said the newly elected councillors have been instructed to record such phone calls in case they receive one. Earlier, the BJP had suggested that the mayor’s election is still an open game and noted that Chandigarh, where the its rival was the largest party, has a mayor from BJP ranks. Of the 250 municipal wards of the Municipal Corporation of Delhi, the BJP managed to won 104 seats while the AAP won 134, according to the State Election Commission. The Congress has emerged victorious on nine seats while three wards have elected independent candidates. Sultana Abad of the AAP won the Jama Masjid ward, while the party’s Sarika Chaudhary defeated Congress’ Farhad Suri by a margin of 244 votes in the Daryaganj seat. The BJP’s Alka Raghav emerged victorious in Laxmi Nagar by a margin of 3,819 votes, while the party’s Rohini D candidate Smita also registered a win. Delhi had recorded a voter turnout of 50.48% in the polls held on December 4. The highest polling percentage (65.72) was recorded in Ward No. 5 (Bakhtawarpur), while the lowest (33.74%t) was registered in Ward No. 145 (Andrews Ganj). In the 2017 civic election, the BJP had won 181 of the 270 wards, the AAP had won 48 wards and the Congress 27. The Delhi MCD results are out now. Stay with TOI for all the latest updates on Delhi Election Result 2022: