Stab at Congress: Bharat Ratna for Charan Singh, Narasimha

Bharat Ratna conferred upon former PMs PV Narasimha Rao and Charan Singh, alongside agriculture scientist MS Swaminathan. Seen as a rebuke to Congress, especially for neglecting Rao. Recognition for Singh’s defiance of collective farming and Swaminathan’s Green Revolution contributions. Award coincides with political dynamics in Andhra Pradesh and UP. Total recipients now 53, with five awarded in 2024.