Historic: 5 JKP officers, personnel awarded Shaurya Chakras

Excelsior Correspondent

SRINAGAR, July 5: In a historic first for the Jammu and Kashmir Police (JKP), five officers and personnel of the force were awarded the Shaurya Chakra today by the President Droupadi Murmu for their exceptional courage and bravery in serving the nation.
Among those officers and personnel who received the prestigious bravery awards at Rashtrapati Bhawan in New Delhi were Selection Grade Constable Saifullah Qadri (posthumously), DySP Mohan Lal, SI Amit Raina, SI Feroz Ahmed, and Constable Varun Singh.
In a statement, DGP RR Swain lauded the courage and dedication of the awardees, stating that their recognition at the highest level brings an honour and a glory to the JKP family.

Follow the Daily Excelsior channel on WhatsApp  

He expressed heartfelt gratitude to the President, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, and the Ministry of Defence, as well as the Central and UT Governments, for acknowledging the valour and sacrifices of J&K Police.
He also thanked the people of Jammu and Kashmir for their unwavering support.
Pertinently, the Ministry of Defence had announced the Shaurya Chakras for the brave hearts on Independence Day 2023 and Republic Day 2024.

The post Historic: 5 JKP officers, personnel awarded Shaurya Chakras appeared first on Daily Excelsior.

Todays story